General Standards

A number of characteristics are common to all functional areas, and these commonalities demand inclusion in all current and future CAS standards. As a result, General Standards were devised that CAS Board members unanimously agreed were relevant to all the functional areas within student support programs and services championed by CAS member associations. The CAS General Standards are reviewed and revised prior to the publication of each new edition of the CAS Professional Standards for Higher Education.

The General Standards divide the essential components and characteristics of quality programs and services into 12 parts. Within the General Standards, there are indispensible requirements for units addressing the following broad categories:

  1. Mission
  2. Program
  3. Organization and Leadership
  4. Human Resources
  5. Ethics
  6. Law, Policy, and Governance
  7. Diversity, Equity, and Access
  8. Internal and External Relations
  9. Financial Resources
  10. Technology
  11. Facilities and Equipment
  12. Assessment

Although the CAS General Standards were not designed to stand alone, they illustrate commonalities that exist among the many student support programs and services throughout higher education. If you are seeking a starting point for assessing your programs and services, you might use the General Standards as a template.

Download the CAS General Standards