CAS Releases Revised Standards for Six Functional Areas

CAS is proud to release revised standards and self-assessment guides for six functional areas.
The Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education is pleased to announce the release of revised standards for six functional areas. CAS, composed of 42 collaborating professional associations representing over 115,000 professionals in higher education, has developed standards and guidelines for 45 functional areas, and rooted them in the scholarship and work conducted within their respective fields. The new standards delineate expectations for educators in the related functional areas and complement the ninth edition of the CAS Professional Standards for Higher Education.

The following functional areas have revised standards and self-assessment guides:

- Campus Religious, Secular, and Spiritual Programs
- Collegiate Recreation Programs
- Dining Services Programs
- Learning Assistance Programs
- Multicultural Student Programs and Services
- Undergraduate Research Programs

According to CAS Executive Director Marybeth Drechsler Sharp, the timely revisions to these standards ensure CAS continues its commitment to providing critical support for higher education practitioners. “Each of these sets of standards has been carefully and thoroughly revised with insight from knowledgeable experts, relevant scholarship, and educators associated with the CAS member organizations,” Drechsler Sharp explained. “Whether developing new programs or evaluating existing services, users will find the CAS standards define essential thresholds for quality practice that promotes student learning, development, and success.”

All revised standards and Self-Assessment Guides are now available for purchase as supplements to the CAS book, by visiting and

Please contact CAS Executive Director Marybeth Drechsler Sharp ( or 202.862.1400) with questions and media inquiries.